More than 170 drivers have taken part in the WA Sporting Car Club’s latest race meeting at Barbagallo Raceway, with the prestigious GT Tander Trophy being run and won.

With 11 categories each enjoying three races at the Wanneroo circuit, the GT Tander Trophy were headlining with 15 drivers going head-to-head across the weekend.

Despite a lot being on the line, it was Matt Cherry who ended the event with the trophy after putting on a perfect display of three wins from three races.

Nick Mitic ended the round in second place with two thirds and a runner-up after Michael Sciorio failed to finish the final race – handing Mitic second and Reuben Romkes the final step on the podium. In the under 2000cc class, Randle Beavis came away with the win over Geoff Duckworth and Grant Gellan.

It was a tough day at the office for Mitic as he was unable to claim top honours in his other competing category, the Hyundai Excels. Alongside co-driver Dean Hill, the duo put on a gallant display but ultimately fell just short of round winners Ryan McNess and Thomas Benford.

Read more at Motorsport Australia

more insights